Articles (Published/Forthcoming/Conditionally Accepted)

“Legacies of Resistance: Mobilization against Organized Crime in Mexico”‘ (with Javier Osorio and Michael Weintraub). Conditionally accepted at Comparative Political Studies.

“State Violence and Wartime Civilian Agency: Evidence from Peru.” Conditionally accepted at Journal of Politics.

“One for All? State Violence and Insurgent Cohesion.” Featured in the Monkey Cage (Washington Post), Conditionally accepted at International Organization.

“Introducing the Ethnic One-Sided Violence Dataset” (with Lars-Erik Cederman, Hanne Fjelde, Simon Hug, Lisa Hultman, and Margareta Sollenberg). Forthcoming at Conflict Management and Peace Science.

“Civilian Victimization and Ethnic Civil War” (with Lars-Erik Cederman, Simon Hug, and Francisco Villamil). Forthcoming at Journal of Conflict Resolution.

“Civil War and Democracy: The Case of Colombia” (with Abbey Steele). Conflict Management and Peace Science, 2018, 35(6): 587-600.

“Disappearing Dissent? Repression and State Consolidation in Mexico” (with Javier Osorio and Michael Weintraub). Journal of Peace Research, 2018, 55(2): 252-266.

“International Conventions and Non-State Actors: Selection, Signaling and Reputation Effects” (with Kristian S. Gleditsch, Simon Hug, and Julian Wucherpfennig), Journal of Conflict Resolution, 2018, 62(2): 346-380.

“Ideology in Armed Groups” (with Matt Zelina), Symposium on Emotions and Ideologies in Violent Political Mobilization, PS: Political Science & Politics, 2017, 50(4): 948-952.

“Militias in Civil Wars” (with Corinna Jentzsch and Stathis N. Kalyvas), Introduction to Special Issue on Militias in Civil Wars, Journal of Conflict Resolution, 2015, 59(5): 755-769.

Selected Papers in Progress

“Attitudes towards War: Instrumental Imperatives, Moral Principles, and International Law” (with Janina Dill). Pre-analysis Plan registered with EGAP. Revise & resubmit at the American Journal of Political Science.

“Vigiliante Mobilization and Local Order: Evidence from Mexico” (with Javier Osorio and Michael Weintraub). Winner of the MPSA Best Paper by Emerging Scholar(s) Award. Working Paper.

“Armed Group Governance and Legitimacy Under Competition” (with Erica de Bruin and Michael Weintraub). Pre-analysis Plan.

“Civilian Victimization and Forced Recruitment” (with Simon Hug). Working Paper.

Book Project

“State Violence and Wartime Collective Action” (proposal accepted; manuscript in progress).

My book manuscript builds on my dissertation, “Repression and Mobilization in Civil War: The Consequences of State Violence for Wartime Collective Action,” defended with highest honors at the University of Zurich.

Committee: Dieter Ruloff (University of Zurich), Lars-Erik Cederman (ETH Zurich), Stathis N. Kalyvas (Yale University), Elisabeth J. Wood (Yale University).

* Prize for Excellence in Applied Development Research
* Best PhD Thesis in Political Science UZH
* SIAF Award 2015
* Annual Outstanding Scholarship Award UZH
* Shortlisted for the Jean Blondel PhD Prize

Special Journal Issue

Special Issue on “Militias in Civil Wars” (co-editor, with Corinna Jentzsch and Stathis N. Kalyvas), Journal of Conflict Resolution, 2015, 59(5).

Book Chapters

“Civil Wars and their Consequences: The Peruvian Armed Conflict in Comparative Perspective” (with David Sulmont). In: Soifer, H. D., & Vergara, A. (eds.). Politics After Violence: Legacies of the Shining Path Conflict in Peru. Austin, TX: University of Texas Press. 2019.

Project Grants

“Explaining Civilian Support for Political and Criminal Armed Groups” (with Michael Weintraub and Erica de Bruin). US National Science Foundation.

“Inequality and Pro-Social Attitudes in Peru” (with Abbey Steele and Seiki Tanaka), LSE RIIF seed fund & UvA staff fund.

“Attitudes Towards Civilian Killings in War” (with Janina Dill), LSE Sticerd.

“Civilian Victimization and Conflict Escalation” (with Lars-Erik Cederman, Simon Hug, and Marcelo Olarreaga), Swiss Network for International Studies.

“`El aqua vale más que el oro:’ Mining and Social Protest in Latin America” (with Simon Bornschier, Marco Steenbergen, and Manuel Vogt), Swiss National Science Foundation.